Kale Salad with Avocado, Oranges, and Almonds

I have been having a small and very satisfying love affair with raw kale salads lately. I can get a good healthy lunch and get away with eating a large amount of avocado. mmmmmm.

I usually just do a massaged kale salad, which is avocado, kale, lemon juice, and I put in halved cherry tomatoes. So when the very talented Jenna from Eat, Live, Run posted a recipe for Kale salad with Avocado, Oranges and Almonds I was like “I’m on it!” After a trip to the grocery store for some oranges I was ready to roll.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The goods, minus the second orange.  

I took the orange pictured and mashed it with a fork over a measuring cup. (note to self: buy a citrus juicer) It was not pretty so there is no picture. I then combined it with salt, pepper, and the olive oil. I then poured half of it over the kale.

I then dumped in the almonds, diced second orange and half of an avocado in the bowl. I use avocados a half at a time since JB (the BF) doesn’t like them. I just cut an avocado in half use whatever half the pit free, and put the other half in a plastic bag. It keeps in the fridge for a couple days without browning.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
The finished salad. I ate the large chunk of avocado off the top the second I was done taking the pic.

The salad is good, I enjoyed the sweet orange mixed with the kale, but ended up adding a half of lemon juiced to it. I think I just like the kick of the lemon. This would be great as a side with salmon. I think tonight I’m going to enjoy it with a side of wine and the new Eating Well magazine that came in the mail today.

Leave a Reply

