Stuffed Strawberries

I am a BIG fan of pinterest. How else would I have learned how to stick a sock in my hair to make the best bun ever!

That’s halfway through my spring barrel wine tasting J I was having a great day with some girlfriends.

Stuffed strawberries have been all over pinterest lately. Mother’s Day seemed to be the perfect excuse for me to make my own version of this sweet summer treat.

 

Stuffed Strawberries

1 8oz block of 1/3 fat cream cheese

¼ cup powder sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbs lemon zest

1 small container light cool whip refrigerated

2 lbs strawberries hulled

 

Whip up the cream cheese until it is nice and fluffy. Then add in your powdered sugar, vanilla and lemon zest, mix with the beater until it becomes a dense frosting consistency.

 

Take half of the container of cool whip and mix in well with a hand spatula. The goal is to loosen up the cream cheese mixture. When well combined add in the second half of the cool whip and lightly fold in. Transfer the mixture into a gallon sized ziplock bag and let rest in the refrigerator for about a half in hour.

 

Wash the strawberries and hull them, then arrange in an upright position on a tray. I used a glass pie plate with some napkins underneath.

 

To fill strawberries cut a small opening in a bottom corner of the bag to create a pastry bag. Twist the open top to seal out excess air, then squeeze out the cheese mixture into the strawberries. When I was done filling the strawberries I may or may not have been taking shots of the cheese mixture out of the bag. . . I have no shame.

 

I topped the strawberries with crumbled gram cracker crust. It was mostly for you guys and a prettier picture, I found it unnecessary to the actual taste of the dessert.

 

These babies where a big hit for the family and were gone by the end of the day, though with my family anything with cream cheese in it will be a hit.

 

Is there a certain food that everyone in your family loves? I was serious with the cream cheese, if anything involves cream cheese my family will demolish it.

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Stuffed Strawberries

  1. Catalina @ Cake with Love

    I am addicted to Pinterest!!! The strawberries look delicious!!

Leave a Reply

